The Continual Compromise – Grad Student Perspective

Hey guys,

2D showed me this site. I was like awestruck when I saw it. Great way for us to rave and rant, and keep in touch. Having read a few posts, I figured I’d add to the latest discussion.

Anoop’s post was dead on. When you get to it, how may of us do stuff because we’re really into it? Anyways, he asked for some perspectives from those in grad school. So here goes.

I’m doing my MS right now in Biological Engineering. I started this in August 2006. I know a few chaps who’ve finished their Master’s already, and have started working. They’re earning greenbacks big time, and are happy. Some of  them fall into that going right back into IT category. Quite a few are different. How different? It depends on how specialized your Master’s is. When it comes to fields like CS and ECE, a lot of fields are plastic – applies throughout the industry, and the degree-holder does the “go back into IT” thing. But there are several fields and branches where specialization is called for. I know one student who did her MS in Stanford – Enviro. She did some stuff on habitation and facilities and from what I understand, her current job (with an engineering firm) is anything but your routine IT-type thing. A lot of these areas are the type where a PhD is called for, not just to show higher competence, but specialized higher competence. And jobs involving these areas will be focused bheja-fry. So that’s on the applicability of your degree to the job (My MS, btw, is all but useless. Nobody gives meaningful jobs of H1B’s to MS-wallahs, so I need Phadda status in Biotech)

Now, about my journey to the PhD. Grad school has had several major upsides – a lot owing to the fact the Univ is in US. I’ve been able to take courses in fields other than those pertaining strictly to my field (I’m doing a writing course right now). I have time – not like 4th year (when will that come again?) – but enough to do things – I’m learning 2 martial arts and I’ve been able to keep up with blogging and I even started learning dancing (Check my December posts). All this, I find is no mean perk, given that everyone I know who’s working right now is in the office or commuting from it. 9-5 is out. People are now doing 5-9 (5 a.m to 9 p.m). Furthermore, being in the Univ gives access to several types of information feeds – lectures, campus publications, the works. And lastly (and in my view, most importantly) I finally have access to people of the opposite sex!! I mean, a lot of them are already committed and shit, but like, I’m seeing, meeting, talking and so forth. Major improvement on jointly fantasizing (along with I guess 1000 males and prob. quite a few females) about Prerna Ramesh!!!! Soft perks-wise, grad school’s great.

Direction-wise, grad school is good (note good). I was interested in my field, and I’m learning how research at different levels works. I’m also learning what I’m likely to be good at professionally (apart from fundaebaazi of course). On a 10 point scale, I’d say the learning experience has been 8.5 at least. Regarding whether I’m achieving what I set out to do, I’d say not fully, but headed in that direction.

The worrisome thing is sometimes this – I’m still in Univ (same as what’s good). By this time, I figured I’d definitely be into what I will do for ever. And while I like my work, I don’t know if this is my great calling. I didn’t find it when I was at IIT, and I’m not finding it in my work here. I’m still looking, and the scary thing is that I am looking in the wrong place. Moreover, being in Univ is still being outside the real world – I ran into slight difficulties recently, and had to write home for cash cuz my scholarship came up short. I’m not 100% self reliant in the way being in the real world is supposed to make you. And that scares me, given I’m nearing 25. I feel like a man-child, sort of like the retard Hrithik Roshan played in “Koi….” (He should have played himself, that would’ve been more convincing). Anyway, the point is, grad school has a lot of things going for it, but the funda of “Get in and everything will be hunky dory” is equally false here.

Ultimately, we’ve got the answers inside ourselves. The question is can we face them? The thing about us being money-making machines: I have to admire Nachiket. I mean, how many of us would have the balls to say “This is it, man. Work, money, living, family… sab ko maro goli.  I’m quitting this and doing the NGO thing”? He, I think, found the answers. And not from anything or anyone.

Arun/Tatti

3 Responses to The Continual Compromise – Grad Student Perspective

  1. sarat 2d says:

    Hmmm.. good life that, yours.
    Its not a ‘real-life’ when you are working too, we all act a bit and then we pretend to be working. I think batla agrees with me. Same when it comes to my money and all other stuff.. a bit of dependence still exists, and thats reality.

    I think graduation is for people to borrow more time to decide what to do.. anand was right there, but I have other reasons to go for MS. Then again, I dont know what my real ‘calling’ is, but I’m sure that doing a few things keeps me sane and much more happier… I intend to do the same in the future too.

    Lastly, a point about Nachi’s NGO thing.. Its not how early we start to work for the ‘greater good’ but how we do it, and more importantly, what to do. Takes a lot of mental preparation it takes to start out on the quest. Would we be happy even after that? To hell with it, what I think is that as long as we choose the ‘right’ side and do the stuff, its alright.. If I work really really hard maybe I’d be able to change a few small things but its very important to do it. Thew first duty is to one’s self.

  2. Saikrishna says:

    Nachi’s NGO ?? Can someone tell me whats he up to? and where is he now?

  3. nakrishna says:

    Nachi works as a research assistant here – ilid.org He’s applying to grad school in education policy and leadership. Dunno more details, need to talk to him sometime.

Leave a comment